Clement N’Goran

Clement N’Goran is a former African tennis champion from Côte d’Ivoire, decorated with a Medal of Honor from the National Order of Sports Merit of Côte d’Ivoire, who dominated the sport in Africa during the 1990s and reached the top 150 ATP ranking on the tour during 1989-1992 with his exceptional talent and all-around game. N’Goran was the game’s best player for Côte d’Ivoire for more than 16 years making him the best tennis player in the history of his country. N’Goran is currently Founder and Head Coach at the N’Goran Tennis Concept and N’Goran Tennis Club Association in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire. 

N’Goran who started playing tennis at a very young age along with his other talented brothers became the first one to win the African Junior Championships 18 & U in the Cadet and Junior categories in 1984 and 1986 (Finalist in the Junior in 1985) respectively. In 1986, N’Goran was a semi-finalist in doubles at the ITF Roland Garros Junior Championships. He also made his debut on the Davis Cup team of Côte d’Ivoire, leading his country during a 12-year period (between 1986 and 1997), with a rubber win-lose record standing at 23 and 8 in singles and 8 and 4 in doubles in the Euro/Africa Group II.

In 1987, N’Goran reached the semi-finals at the ITF World Junior Championship (Orange Bowl), and at the International Junior Tournament at Nice. He reached the finals at the International junior tournament of Grasse, and finished the year among the 20 best ITF Junior Players in the world. In 1988, N’Goran started competing at his first Summer Olympic Games in Seoul, and went on competing at the 1992 Summer Olympics in Barcelona, and the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta where he reached the quarter finals in doubles partnering with his brother Claude N’Goran.

In 1990, N’Goran won his first tournament of the ATP Challenger Tour in East Africa and reached the semi-finals of Challenger Tournaments of Casablanca and Budapest. In 1991, N’Goran’s numbers grew remarkably reaching the quarter finals at the Challenger Tournament of Indianapolis, two finals at other Challenger Tournaments in the U.S., won the Challenger Tournament of Portugal, and reached the finals of the Africa Zone Davis Cup. In 1993, N’Goran reached the semi-finals at Challenger Tournament of Calgary, and won the Challenger Tournament of Kuala Lumpur. He was Vice Champion of France Interclubs N1A with Stade Toulousain Tennis Club. N’Goran spent 5 years in the 1st Series in France (Among the top 30 best players). He endured a career injury from 1994-1995.

Over the course of his illustrious career, N’Goran competed at every major ATP Tour event including the Australian Open, Roland Garros, Wimbledon and the U.S. Open in both singles and doubles, culminating his active professional competing years in 1999 winning the Championship of France Inter Club N1B with Club Stade Toulousain Tennis Department.

N’Goran started his Coaching career in 1997 at the International Tennis Academy (ITA) Delray-Beach, Florida. From 1999 through 2002, N’Goran was a Travelling Coach in Europe and in Africa for the International Tennis Federation for World Championships Under 18 (18, 16, 14 years old categories). N’Goran was in charge of Coaching and detection of young talents. He also participated in several world tennis coaching conferences (Tunisia, Morocco, Spain, and other countries). Since 2003, he has been a Tennis Coach for Club Stade Toulousain in charge of training the youth (10-18 years old) and adults.

From 2007 to 2010, N’Goran was Technical Director of the International Federation, Dakar, Senegal, and Director of the Academy Center, ITF and the African Tennis Confederation in Dakar. In 2009, N’Goran returned to his home country of Côte d’Ivoire with the determination and conviction to devote his global and professional experience to inspire and train future generations of champions from Côte d’Ivoire and other regional countries. N’Goran founded N’Goran Tennis Concept (NTC), a private Training Center and Tennis Club visited by great tennis players such as Yannick Noah.

N’Goran obtained a “Staff Certificate 1st Degree High Level Sportive Education” from the French Tennis Federation at Roland Garros in France, and a “Degree Level 2 of Coach” from the International Tennis Federation and the Confederation of African Tennis. N’Goran has expertise in all phases of the game, including diet, the correction of physical postures, and designing of high-level training programs.

In December 2019, Clément N’Goran was decorated with a Medal of Honor from the National Order of Sports Merit of Côte d’Ivoire as the greatest legend in the history of Ivorian tennis.

Announcement: In December 2019, Clément N’Goran was decorated with a Medal of Honor from the National Order of Sports Merit of Côte d’Ivoire as the greatest legend in the history of Ivorian tennis.

Club History

Abidjan, once the site of the African junior tennis championships and professional tournaments, is abounding with sporting clubs and tennis courts which for many years now have gone unexploited, or at best under-exploited.

Recognizing that existing facilities with a substantial financial investment can be restored, N’Goran Tennis Concept embarked on a journey to revive the dormant unexploited sporting areas, such as the Club Municipal in the neighborhood of 2 Plateaux behind what used to be the SOCOCE supermarket.

From humble beginnings…

NTC is operating at the Club Municipal located in the city of Abidjan. Operations began in 2010 with the conversion of a rundown basketball court and play area into 2 tennis courts and a mini tennis court.

…to keeping the lights on 8 years later.

2010

N’Goran Tennis Concept Founded

2015

+40 Members, club renovations 

2016

N’Goran Tennis Club Abidjan (Association) Founded

2018

2nd community tennis programs for +60 kids with Fondation Voodoo

Want to become a Member of NTC and play?

Improve your tennis game, or just learn how to play, get fit and enjoy the best tennis programs offered in Abidjan with some of the best coaches in the country. A lifetime sport, tennis is an activity the whole family can participate in.

x Logo: Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security

Clément N’Goran

Clément N’Goran est un ancien champion africain de tennis de Côte d’Ivoire, décoré Chevalier de l’Ordre du mérite sportif, qui a dominé le sport en Afrique dans les années 1990 et a atteint le top 150 du classement ATP sur le circuit en 1989-1992 avec son talent exceptionnel et son jeu complet. Clément a été le meilleur joueur de Côte d’Ivoire pendant près de 20 ans, faisant de lui le meilleur joueur de tennis de l’histoire de son pays.

Leader de l’équipe nationale de Coupe Davis en Côte d’Ivoire depuis longtemps, Clément a placé le tennis ivoirien et africain à l’avant-garde des plus grandes compétitions et des Jeux Olympiques. Aujourd’hui, Clément se développe dans la gestion de clubs et la supervision de tennis de haut niveau. Il est actuellement fondateur et entraîneur-chef de N’Goran Tennis Concept et de l’Association des clubs de tennis de N’Goran à Abidjan.

Clément qui a commencé à jouer au tennis à un très jeune âge avec ses autres frères talentueux est devenu le premier à remporter les Championnats d’Afrique Junior 18 & U dans les catégories Cadet et Junior en 1984 et 1986 (Finaliste dans la catégorie Junior en 1985) respectivement. En 1986, N’Goran était demi-finaliste en double aux Championnats juniors FIT de Roland Garros. Il a également fait ses débuts dans l’équipe de Coupe Davis de Côte d’Ivoire, dirigeant son pays pendant 12 ans (entre 1986 et 1997), avec un record de victoires et défaites en eliminations de 23 et 8 en simple et de 8 et 4 en double dans le Groupe II Euro/Afrique.

En 1987, Clément atteint les demi-finales du Championnat du monde junior de la FIT (Orange Bowl) et du Tournoi international junior de Nice. Il a atteint la finale du tournoi international junior de Grasse et a terminé l’année parmi les 20 meilleurs joueurs juniors de la FIT dans le monde. En 1988, Clément a commencé à participer à ses premiers Jeux olympiques d’été à Séoul, puis aux Jeux olympiques d’été de 1992 à Barcelone et aux Jeux olympiques d’été de 1996 à Atlanta, où il a atteint les quarts de finale en double avec son frère Claude N’Goran.

En 1990, Clément remporte son premier tournoi de l’ATP Challenger Tour en Afrique de l’Est et atteint les demi-finales des Tournois Challenger de Casablanca et Budapest. En 1991, le palmarès de Clément a remarquablement augmenté atteignant les quarts de finale au Tournoi Challenger d’Indianapolis, deux finales à d’autres Tournois Challenger aux Etats-Unis, gagnant le Tournoi Challenger du Portugal, et atteignant la finale de la Coupe Davis en Zone Afrique. En 1993, Clément a atteint les demi-finales du Tournoi Challenger de Calgary et a remporté le Tournoi Challenger de Kuala Lumpur. Il a été vice-champion de France Interclubs N1A au Stade Toulousain Tennis Club. Il a passé 5 ans dans la 1ère série en France (parmi les 30 meilleurs joueurs). Il a subi une blessure professionnelle de 1994 à 1995.

Au cours de son illustre carrière, Clément a participé à tous les grands événements de l’ATP Tour, y compris l’Open d’Australie, Roland Garros, Wimbledon et l’US Open en simple et en double, culminant ses années de compétition professionnelle active en 1999 en remportant le Championnat de France Inter Club N1B avec le Département de Tennis Club Stade Toulousain.

Clément a commencé sa carrière d’entraîneur en 1997 à l’International Tennis Academy (ITA) Delray-Beach, Floride. De 1999 à 2002, il a été entraîneur itinérant en Europe et en Afrique pour la Fédération Internationale de Tennis pour les Championnats du Monde des moins de 18 ans (catégories 18, 16, 14 ans). Clément était en charge du Coaching et de la détection des jeunes talents. Il a également participé à plusieurs conférences mondiales d’entraîneurs de tennis (Tunisie, Maroc, Espagne et autres pays). Depuis 2003, il est entraîneur de tennis au Club Stade Toulousain en charge de la formation des jeunes (10-18 ans) et des adultes.

De 2007 à 2010, Clément a été directeur technique de la Fédération internationale, Dakar, Sénégal, et directeur du Centre de l’Académie, de la FIT et de la Confédération africaine de tennis à Dakar. En 2009, il est retourné dans son pays natal, la Côte d’Ivoire, avec la détermination et la conviction de mettre son expérience mondiale et professionnelle au service des générations futures de champions de Côte d’Ivoire et d’autres pays de la région. Clément a fondé N’Goran Tennis Concept (NTC), un centre d’entraînement privé et un club de tennis visité par de grands joueurs de tennis tels que Yannick Noah.

Clément a obtenu un « Brevet d’Etat d’Educateur Sportif 1er Degré en Tennis » de la Fédération Française de Tennis à Roland Garros en France, et un « Degré Niveau 2 D’Entraîneur de Haut Niveau » de la Fédération Internationale de Tennis et la Confédération Africaine de Tennis. Clément possède une expertise dans toutes les phases du jeu, y compris l’alimentation, la correction des postures physiques et la conception de programmes d’entraînement de haut niveau.

En décembre 2019, Clément N’Goran a été décoré Chevalier de l’Ordre du mérite sportif dans l’ordre national du mérite sportif de Côte d’Ivoire entant que la plus grande légende dans l’histoire du tennis ivoirien.

Annonce: En décembre 2019, Clément N’Goran a été décoré Chevalier de l’Ordre du mérite sportif dans l’ordre national du mérite sportif de Côte d’Ivoire entant que la plus grande légende dans l’histoire du tennis ivoirien.

Histoire du club

Abidjan, qui était autrefois le site des championnats africains juniors de tennis et des tournois professionnels, regorge de clubs sportifs et de courts de tennis qui sont inexploités ou, au mieux, sous-exploités.

Conscient de la possibilité de restaurer les installations existantes nécessitant un investissement financier substantiel, N’Goran Tennis Concept s’est lancé dans une aventure visant à faire revivre les zones sportives inexploitées, telles que le Club Municipal, situé à proximité des 2 Plateaux derrière ce qui était autrefois le supermarché SOCOCE.

De modestes débuts…

NTC est opérationnel au Club Municipal situé dans la ville d’Abidjan. Les opérations ont débuté en 2010 avec la conversion d’un terrain de basketball délabré et d’une aire de jeux en 2 courts de tennis et un mini-tennis.

… Pour garder les lumières allumées 10 ans plus tard.

2010

N’GORAN TENNIS CONCEPT EST FONDÉ

2015

+40 MEMBRES, RÉNOVATIONS DE CLUB

2016

N’GORAN TENNIS CLUB ABIDJAN (ASSOCIATION) FONDÉE

2018

2ÈME PROGRAMME DE TENNIS COMMUNAUTAIRE POUR +60 ENFANTS AVEC LA FONDATION VOODOO

Voulez-vous devenir membre de NTC et jouer?

Améliorez votre jeu de tennis ou apprenez simplement à jouer, à vous mettre en forme et à profiter des meilleurs programmes de tennis offerts à Abidjan avec les meilleurs entraîneurs du pays. Le tennis est une activité à vie, le tennis est une activité à laquelle toute la famille peut participer.

x Logo: Shield Security
Ce Site Est Protégé Par
Shield Security